Traveling Northwest Indiana: Don Pablo’s – A Taste of Mexico

Don Pablo’s

2831 East 80th Ave

Merrillville, IN

Image
Entrance to Don Pablo’s Merrillville branch.

For all intent and purpose, Don Pablo’s is one amazing restaurant to get served Mexican food. From their fresh tortillas to their famous margaritas, Don Pablo’s enticed me to try new foods that I have never had before. A restaurant that serves some amazingly bold tasting food, Don Pablo’s will undeniably succeed in getting your mouth to celebrate a fiesta.

For example, the food that my family and
I ordered was The El Matador, a combination of chicken flautas, cheese & onion enchilada, crispy beef taco, and a chicken enchilada. My mother ordered the Mexicano, a beef enchilada, crispy beef taco, and a cheese & onion enchilada. My father ordered the  Numero Uno Favorite. A crispy steak fajita taco, a soft chicken fajita taco with sautéed onions and peppers, and a chicken enchilada. Lastly my niece ordered the President, a beef enchilada, chicken enchilada and a chile cheese relleno.

With each bite of food, the looks on the faces of my family changed. I remember my niece’s first bite. She claimed that she didn’t like Mexican food, yet when she closed her mouth, her eyes lit up like a Christmas tree. It is always a valuable lesson to learn – to not judge a book by its cover. My niece learned this for the first time in her life by trying Don Pablo’s food. Now it seems like all she wants to do is go back and try something new.

Image
The inside of Don Pablo’s.

The environment of the restaurant was lively and full of excitement. The food is well priced, and the freshly made tortillas were some of the softest I’ve ever eaten. Overall, I feel that anyone traveling through Merrillville, Indiana should  experience some of this unique Mexican cuisine. Don Pablo’s strives to give its customers a good deal, along with great food. Yet, it offers even more than that. It simply is a fun experience that the family will enjoy, and could even change your minds on what new combinations of food you a willing to try.

-Nick Pluchinsky

Leave a Reply

